Customer Service Standards

All service providers are required to develop and publish customer service standards that set target levels of service for key performance indicators (KPIs). Newly registered service providers must prepare a customer service standard within 6 months of registration.

Customer service standards must be reviewed every 5 years.

Target levels include:

  • total water main breaks
  • total sewerage main breaks and chokes
  • incidence of unplanned interruptions
  • water quality complaints
  • total water and sewerage complaints
  • average response time for incidents.

These KPIs are each specifically listed in a reporting requirement notice issued to service providers.

Customer service standards must also include details about how you will interact with customers, the process for service connections, billing, metering, accounting, customer consultation, complaints and dispute resolution.

Please refer to the Queensland Government website for the latest updates.