Department of Health

qldwater Affiliate Member since: 2017

Queensland Health delivers a range of public health services, in collaboration with key stakeholders, to help ensure the health of Queenslanders is protected. Public health services are delivered by Queensland Health’s 11 public health units, located across the state, with support from Queensland Health’s central office. 

Queensland Health’s Water Unit, located in Brisbane, develops policy and legislation, and provides health risk and technical advice, on matters relating to drinking water, recycled water, water fluoridation, recreational waters, and water risk management in healthcare facilities. Queensland Health’s Water Unit also oversees Queensland’s wastewater surveillance program for SARS-CoV-2.

Queensland Health’s public health units are regulators of water fluoridation and co-regulators of drinking and recycled water and four of these public health units deliver the Safe and Healthy Drinking Water in Indigenous Local Government Areas Program in partnership with participating councils. 

Contact details for Department of Health

Back to Affiliates